Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ditnc

Lack of males (squash)

ditnc
14 years ago

My summer squash has 2 female blooms with yellow baby squashes on them, but I don't have ANY male flowers. I planted in late April and am in North Carolina. I do have a shorter sunlight span that I would like, but there are females. Is this common? Will more males begin to proliferate as it warms up? (This is my first time growing squash). Thanks!

Comments (19)

• lilion
    14 years ago

That is a tad unusual, because I thought males usually come first, but I wouldn't worry about it just yet. It is normal for the first blossums to be all of the same sex. For some reason the other's come later to the party. Don't let those baby's go to waste! You can batter and cook them, blossum and all, and I hear they are very good!!!

• lowraine
    14 years ago

How can you tell the difference from the male and female?

• jwstell42
    14 years ago

At the base, the female flower will have a baby squash on it (this is what grows into the fruit), where as the male will just be a straight stem.

• sqftsteve
    14 years ago

Funny that you would mention this. The other day in the early morning I went out to water the garden and was surprised to see all this yellow. All of the zucchinis opened up at the same time. I had to try one (just rinsed it off and ate it). It didn't taste like much at all. Very mild, not what I'd expect a flower to taste like. About as much flavor as a piece of iceburg lettuce. Maybe something magical happens when you cook it. ((shrug))

Newbie me, I never knew that vegetables could be this beautiful.

{{gwi:1270542}}

{{gwi:1270544}}

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    14 years ago

In a few more weeks you'll be wondering where all the female fls are. Don't worry about it.

Dan

• gmreeves
    14 years ago

The magic happens when you bread them and deep fry them. The blossom just gives the breading something to stick to. :)

• ditnc
    Original Author
    14 years ago