Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rachel597

Time to Plant the Garden....or is it?

rachel597
14 years ago

Memorial Day is usually the safe date for planting the vegetable garden in my area. So I planned to take advantage of the long weekend to get some work done.

I have to say, planting the SFG is so EASY compared to the traditional garden. This is my first year trying SFGardening and so far I like it very much.

I finally got most of my transplants in the gardens by late afternoon Monday. I was exhausted and all my muscles ached. I took a long shower and got into some comfy clothes and planned on putting my feet up and taking it easy for the rest of the evening.

But all that changed when we turned on the local weather I couldnÂt believe what I was hearing: FROST ADVISORY OVERNIGHT. Are you kidding me!? It was 80 and 90 degrees just last week?!

So I gathered all the old sheets and pillowcases I could find and we worked on covering the newly planted transplants. Luckily the plants were so small I could place large pots over most of them to create a shelf for the sheet to rest on. The pillowcases fit snugly right over the tomato cages. We covered up all we could and hoped for the best.

Luckily, there was only one casualty.

Here is a link that might be useful: Visit My Blog: GrafixMuse's GardenSpot

Comments (10)

• sinfonian
    14 years ago

Wow! Great success story. You'd have thought you were fine. Good thing they do frost advisories there. I don't think they do here.

Glad you had the energy after all that to provide your transplants some frost protection. Way to go.

I'm also glad you are enjoying SFG. It is pretty easy work wise.

• greenbean08_gw
    14 years ago