Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tbick

How often to water

tbick
9 years ago

Hi all,

Sorry for asking a question that may have been answered before, but I couldn't find much info on watering an SFG. I'm new to gardening in general and have been watering every day. After reading how often to water (specifically related to in-ground gardens) it looks like that's too often, and I should be watering deeply, once a week. Is this a standard schedule for watering?

I live in northern Virginia, which is a humid climate with rainfall a couple of times per week on average. My soil is 50% compost, 25% peat, 25% vermiculite.

I also realize that the amount of water differs, depending on the plant, as well as how much rain I get. I have a lot of greens, tomatoes, peppers, and beans.

Thanks for the help!

Comments (5)

• gardenper
    9 years ago

I think it depends on your plants and their conditions. We can't quite clearly describe a watering schedule due to all these factors.

Young plants and transplants should be more watered to get established. Older and more mature plants may not need to be watered as much.

A general rule is to see how wet the soil is a few inches below the top, around the root zone of where your plants would be. But even that is not a good measure because as you said, it's better to have deep roots than shallow roots. At the same time, summer has not arrived yet. Although VA summers aren't that hot compared to other regions but watering in spring will be different from watering in summer.

I think you could use the soil test and your plants to tell you when they need water. You could also ignore that and just water on a certain schedule, such as 2-3 days a week when there is no rain (or more -- you'll have to determine this). Once a week might even be enough if you get sufficient rain.

• nugrdnnut
    9 years ago