Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jwalter007_gw

Is bottom fabric my problem

jwalter007
9 years ago

I am a newbie gardener. I made my first garden last year. I worked pretty hard on tilling in compost material. I was moderately successful. For this year I decided to follow the directions in sqr ft garden book. I was hesitant to line the bottom of my boxes with landscape fabric but I followed the book. This am i searched this site for info on plant growth stunting and found lots of talk about root growth needing to go deep.

This is what my original hesitation was about but I figured if the soil was nutrient enough then the roots wouldnt need to go deep.
I believe this is the reason for my stunted growth. The garden is watered almost every day & it receives great sun pretty much all day. There is an old french guy behind me who has an amazing garden. His plants are about 5x the size of mine. He started with larger ones but they have out performed mine by an exponential amount. He had a stroke so he is very hard to talk to. I dont think he understands what I ask when I ask for advice.

I feel the problem is the fabric. If you agree, is there anyway to work around it this season...stab holes thru it thru the dirt somehow not disrupting the root.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (12)

• Rick J Zone 6b
    9 years ago

What are the dimensions of your SFG?

• jwalter007
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I have 2 4x8'
    and 1 2x8' boxes

thanks

• slowjane CA/ Sunset 21
    9 years ago

how deep are your beds? what kinds of plants are stunted?

different plants have different kinds of roots and needs - some don't need much room at all, but some do, like tomatoes.

• jwalter007
    Original Author
    9 years ago

They are 6" deep.
    I have beans, peas, eggplant, kale, cukes, herbs, spinach, zuchini, kholrabi, tomotos & peppers.
    the last 2 are in the 2x8 bed together.