Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ellenjean12_gw

Help! Am I using the right soil?

ellenjean12
9 years ago

Hi all (I'm a newbie here so please forgive me if I'm asking a stupid question).

We just built two 3.5 x 3.5 raised beds and I sent my husband to pick up soil from a place called Sloat here in SF. He came back with their potting soil (ingredients: fir bark, peat moss, horticultural sand, mushroom compost) and he's emptied most of the bags into the raised beds already. Is this stuff similar to Mel's mix? What should I add to it to make it better? Thanks for your input. I'm looking forward to learning from all of you.
Ellen

Comments (6)

• greasybeans
    9 years ago

It is difficult to say since we can't see what is on the bag.
    Does it mention that it is good for raised beds?

A blend of a good quality potting mix and compost (50-50)
    is good. Too much peat moss will make the mix acidic.
    If you aren't sure you can always add a little more compost. More than one type of compost is recommended. You have mushroom compost already.

It does sound like a good mix if the proportions are correct.

• yolos - 8a Ga. Brooks
    9 years ago

No it is nothing like Mel's Mix. Mel's Mix is 1/3 vermiculite or perilite, 1/3 peat moss, 1/3 compost that is made from 5 different types of compost. The mix your husband purchased has some peat moss in it but we don't know how much. It only has one type of compost. If you want it to be more like Mel's Mix, add vermiculite/perilite and some different types of compost. I'm not saying your soil will not work but you asked if it was like Mel's Mix and it is not. The fir bark may work similar to vermiculite but I don't really know.

• alhannah17
    9 years ago