Pictures of SFG through the Years

snibb
12 years ago

Maybe giving others additional ideas...

http://s292.photobucket.com/albums/mm14/snobblet/

Comments (10)

• scarletdaisies
    12 years ago

How nice! I always wished I had tried sfg.

• MytFine
    12 years ago

Hi Snibb - I spent some time looking at ways gardeners have done summer squash, zuchs and cukes in their sq ft gardens. Your rope technique is interesting! Thought I'd try the inverted tomato baskets this year with garden soft string squares around the perimeter. We usually just plant all squash on a hill in the yard and let them ramble. I think we'll get more veggies training them. We'll see. Enjoyed your garden pics!

• snibb
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I hope it works for you. Im still not exactly sure what your going to do though

• tiredmamaof5
    12 years ago

Your garden looks beautiful and you sound like you are very experienced in the square foot gardening. I'm fairly new to the square foot gardening. AZ does not have very good soil, so I decided to try the raised bed method. I've had three crops in my garden and none of the crops have been very successful. At some point the growth becomes stunted and I can't figure out why. I feel like I'm watering just enough because the mulch on the top is dry but if I put my finger down in the soil, it is slightly moist. I planted squash two months ago and my plants are not even big enough to climb up a trellis yet and no flowers. My beans were planted a month ago, they are only 6 inches tall and are producing nothing. Same with cucumbers.
    There is another discussion on the forum addressing the slow growth situation and the consensus seems to be the combination of the Mel's mix just doesn't seem to be working.
    Would love any suggestions! Are you using Mel's mix exactly?
    I love your irrigation system. Are the black hoses soaker hoses? Do you water through the white tube?

Would love your input!

• snibb
    Original Author