Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_20067822

Perennials in the Square Foot Garden

User
14 years ago

This is my first year gardening and I've started with SFG. I have two 4x4 squares dug about a foot into the ground. If I had it to do over again, I would have planted raised in a box... My question is about perennials like asparagus and strawberries. Seems like most of SFG is about planting, harvesting, turning and re-planting. I'm not sure how to deal with perinnials. Do I dedicate a whole square to them or maybe just go with more traditional row gardens? My wife got me 25 (!) strawberry plants and I'm not sure what to do with them.

Comments (9)

• mmqchdygg
    14 years ago

This is my first year with them, as well. From everything I've read, it is popular among COMMERCIAL growers to turn them under every year and replant.

Here in the homeowner's group, it seems that people see a reduction in production (hey, that's funny) in the third year, and decide to replant at that time.

Given these two considerations, I decided to dedicate enough space (planted 6-8" apart, but not as close as 4 per square foot as some do) for them this year (I got 25 as well), and will clip off runners, but allow 1 runner from each plant to root itself so I can plant another 25 in the fall. Reason I'm doing this is that logically, this will give me 25 plants that are a year old next season, and the original plants which are 2 years old by next season. Next year, I'll (A) take out the 2 year old plants in the fall (the ones I'm starting with this year), and (B) allow 25 new runners from the 2009 runners (which are now plants which I'll plant Fall of 2009) (following all this?)
    That way, I will have 50 plants each year after this year, and I will never have a section of 25 which is older than 2 years (to avoid the 3rd year decline in production).

So to summarize my plan:
    2009: Plant original 25
    2009: Allow 25 more runners.