Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
new_2_gardening

Help me with my plot planning please?

new_2_gardening
13 years ago

Hi all, this is my first year at square foot gardening, I used to do containers before we moved and now have a yard ;)

I have become overly obsessed with what to plant where for weeks now and well I am driving myself insane with it. I was looking for some sort of program that would tell me exactly went where and how many of what...etc.

Anyway I have one 2'X4' bed dedicated to strawberries only. Should I fit one per square....so 8 plants will do there right?

Now I also have:

1- 2'X4' bed

2- 4'X4' beds

Here is what I want and/or plan to have (most important listed first) meaning I would like the most yield from: We are a family of 3 (one who is a toddler who most likely wont eat anything from the garden, lol). I also want to freeze as much as I can. I don't jar, or make sauce either. Basically lots of salads and beans I want. And hubby wants lots of peppers.

Beefsteak tomatoes

Bell Peppers

Green Beans (is pole or bush better for more yield?)

Leeks

Cucumbers

Swiss Chard

Brussel Sprouts (I LOVE THESE, only me though)

Carrots

Kale

Now I have lots of lettuce, but I probably could just make do with it all in containers along with my cherry tomatoes.

We also want:

LOTS OF CILANTRO, we use it like crazy. Should I plant it in a bed with something, or dedicate a large container?

I would appreciate any input. Thank You, Thank You!!!!

Comments (2)

• nycynthias
    13 years ago

Hi possible neighbor! *waves*
    Let me take a crack at these questions...
    About the strawberries: smart idea to dedicate a bed to them! Yes, I would do 8 plants in a 2x4 bed, just keep the runners somewhat in check and be sure to mulch them nicely when winter is on the way--one favorite mulch is straw or salt hay.