Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How does Broccoli grow?

Posted by kristimama SF East Bay Zn 9 (My Page) on
Fri, May 9, 08 at 20:13

OK, I am NOT having a blonde moment. I promise. LOL

I'm wondering if broccoli is one of the crops that I should stagger plantings of, like carrots or lettuce, to get a steady ongoing crop. Or do you just stick one plant in and it harvests over a long time period.

I am new to this and have NO idea how much broccoli a single plant will yield, but all the descriptions say it'll grow 1 head, then provide a second smaller crop of some side shoots.

We eat broccoli almost every single day (the only veg my kids will eat, practically) and I'm not sure how much to plant and how to space them if we need to. But if 1 plant provides 1 head, and we eat about 1 head a day, I'm going to need a new garden. LOL

Thanks!
-kristi

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How does Broccoli grow?

i think it depends on the climate. in kansas, the season is limited by the heat, until you can put in a fall crop. you might check with the local folks...in your climate it might be even a year round plant. if you eat one a day, you're sure going to need a bunch. there are 2 of us and i grow 8 plants in the spring and fall.

o

Thanks Flatlander. I guess what I'm wondering is, when you say that it might be a year round plant, do you mean someone would stagger their planting to spread out the harvest. Or just that the plant continues to produce side shoots. I got the impression from Mel's book that broccoli will only produces side shoots only once.

Thanks for helping me understand this,
-Kristi

o

My experience has been you get the one bunch (head) the rest are sooo much smaller and you can't really count on them. So a staggered planting would prob be a good idea.

Like anything grown in the garden - you will love the taste, nothing like it. So much fresher.

Good Luck,
Gumby_CT

o