Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Mole got into raised bed - recommended solutions for next year?

Posted by estreya Southwest Washington (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 14, 09 at 2:02

Greetings everyone!

This is my first year with raised square foot garden beds. Each day, they delight and teach me many new things, though for the past two days, they've frustrated me no end. You see, a mole got underneath and into one of the beds, uprooting my tender shoots and leaving those horrible dirt mounds in their place.

I know it's too late to attempt any preventative measures this year. For next year, what kind of material should i line the beds with to prevent the moles from accessing the dirt? I'm thinking the openings on chicken wire are too large ... would nylon netting work? Can i get a small but strong grid pattern in a wire mesh of some kind?

Any advise would be deeply appreciated.

I'm not giving up! :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Mole got into raised bed - recommended solutions for next yea

Contractor's mesh I think it's called. 1/4th inch holes and made of steel. Sturdy stuff.

Sorry they disturbed your beds. That sucks. My moles are confined to my front yard for the moment. My beds may not be protected with landscape fabric and 3 inches of gravel.

Good luck and don't give up. Coons have raided my bed just as bad. Let it be a lesson.

o

Ask for "hardware cloth" it's a wire mesh as described above. Comes in different size openings, I think half-inch will work.

Nylon might get chewed by the varmit. From your description it sounds like a gopher.

o

Thank you very much, you two. This is exactly what i needed to know. I'll look for hardware cloth/contractors mesh in my local hardware stores next Spring.

o