Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jose404

Need help for building square foot garden.

jose404
11 years ago

I am new to square foot gardening and i wanted help on building my bed. My situation: I am trying to build a 2 by 4 bed in my back yard which is just cement. The problem that i have is that i don't know what to put as my base. I saw a video on YouTube where the person puts various pieces of wood(which are screwed to the bottom of the bed) across the bottom to keep it off the ground so it can drain. He also puts a piece of cardboard inside the bed instead of plywood to keep the Mel's Mix off the ground and then covers the inside of the bed with plastic bags. Should i follow his example or what should i do different?

Comments (9)

• angela12345
    11 years ago

I am not sure what, if anything you should put under the bed. I would think the water would drain out the sides at the bottom if it is on concrete, as it certainly wouldn't be water-tight. Do a search using the search box at the bottom of the SFG forum home page for cement and for concrete. You will find others who have put their beds over cement as well.

If anything, I would sit the bed right on the concrete, but line the bottom, going up the sides, with landscape fabric so the soil won't leak out the bottom which would be messy.

Here is one that talks about height of the bed over cement ...
    http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/sqfoot/msg041954057656.html

• jose404
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I'm going to do what you said about putting landscape fabric in the box. However, what can I use to keep the fabric in place besides using a staple gun?

• webbee
    11 years ago

The purpose of the garden cloth/cardboard is to keep weeds from growing up from the soil the raised bed is placed upon. Plastic, cardboard, garden cloth, newspapers all work to name a few.