Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
socalgirl_10

How long have you done this? What would change?

socalgirl-10
15 years ago

So, I am interested in how long everyone has done the square foot garden method and what have you changed to make it work for you? I am doing this the first year for veggies and just interested in the experience others have had.

Comments (10)

• sinfonian
    15 years ago

Well, this is my first year as well, but I admit I didn't follow SFG precisely. First off I didn't trim my tomato plants down to a single stem. I also planted my corn bed in rows rather than using the SFG method (though the numbers of plants are about the same). I guess that's about it.

Here is a link that might be useful: Sinfonian's garden adventure

• engineeredgarden
    15 years ago

First year with sfg also - the only thing I would have changed is planting sooner.

• njmallu
    15 years ago

First year for me too. Like engineeredgarden, I would have planted sooner, and would have used some indoor sprouting as well. I planted everything on the beds directly this time. There is still one more bed to be planted :-)

The plus side of the late sowing was that I forced myself to read some books on extending the gardening season :-)

• Melissa Houser
    15 years ago

We built my beds as we went this year, so I automatically had to space my plantings. Next year, I will probably plant more of some things at the same time, such as green beans. I have 1 square planted and producing, but 10-12 beans at a time isn't enough to make a mess of beans!

I will probably also go ahead and put Sevin dust down around squash plantings as soon as I put them out because of the fight I've had with squash bugs this year. And, I'll probably plant my squash much sooner.

Of course, since I'm in FL, my "next year" is going to be sooner than for many others. I'll be doing a full replant on my main bed at the end of August and, possibly, on the side beds as well.

• tornado6
    15 years ago