Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie Q

Posted by bubbalove 8 Central AL (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 6, 10 at 15:37

I planted some marigolds that I grew from seed and they are scattered through the garden. They are about a foot tall and no sign of blooming. Any ideas why?

I'm going to post a few pics when I borrow a camera. Sadly, I left my camera in the garden and it got rained on...

I'm new to sq ft and have been lurking about, love the site. Some success and some failures but I keep plucking away at it. Getting hot here in AL and some of my biggest mistakes were not understanding the new zone (I'm used to Zone 6). Any thoughts about what to plant now?

thanks
Bubba

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie Q

Have you seen EG's blog? He's in Alabama too- you might find some helpful info.

Here is a link that might be useful: EG's Blog

o

bubbalove,

I would plant a shade tree!

o

I have shade (Thank God)maybe too much. I get a lot of afternoon sun.
The non-blooming marigolds aren't really a prblem just a curious question. I wonder if they still help with insect control if they aren't blooming?

o

Maybe too much nitrogen (for marigolds; probably fine for the vegetables)? Usually when you get a lot of leaves and not many flowers on otherwise healthy plants, that's the cause.

Try planting some in pots in "regular" soil. They're not fussy and they should bloom. Same thing happens with Nasturtiums if you plant them in too fertile soil.

o

Susan,
Thanks. That may be the problem. I mix my own soil, heavy on the compost (Real compost, from my own pile. Last year)
Maybe I should ad some phosphorous for blooming?
I was thinking tomatoes aren't blooming as much as I would expect, that might be the problem.
Also, potatoes which are growing well started 'laying over' after some heavy rains last week. They didn't pop back up so I trimmed and caged them...
thanks
Bubba

o Post a Follow-Up