Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My garden is a huge ant house!

Posted by socalgirl-10 (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 27, 08 at 15:58

I can hardly even water my plants there are so many ants, it freaks me out they are crawling all over the boxes, all over the plants, and all over me. I have two dogs that are often in my garden area and I just do not know what to do. Any ideas?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My garden is a huge ant house!

Socalgirl - I have many ants, as well - but they are actually beneficial to me. They seem to really go after the aphids on the okra leaves. So far, they have caused no problems at all. Of course, I may have a different outlook as the season progresses.

o

this is my first year sfging. i too have ants like crazy. i'm not too worried though because i know ants tunnel a lot and should help keep the soil loose like the worms do. i'm not sure what you can do if they really bother you. i have heard of one thing you can try. they say if you sprinke corn meal on the area with the ants they will take them "home" and they try to eat them, but can't digest it and die. at least your not adding poison to the soil. hope this helps.

o

engineeredgarden,
Ant 'farm' aphids. They probably brought the aphids to the garden. The ants feed of the goo the aphids make. If you get rid of the aphids you may get rid of the ants.

o

Just because of this thread, I paid attention to how many ants were on my raised bed today. I counted about 20 crawling along the rails and dirt, but it didn't seem excessive to me. That may be because I'm in South Florida, where the state animals are mosquito and ants! :)

Are the ants eating your plants? Or are they just milling around? If they are affecting food production, you might want to try to get rid of them. If not, I'd let them help pollinate things.

o