Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lowraine

Bush lima bean question

lowraine
14 years ago

This is my first year growing a garden and I find that my bush lima bean has runners. Are these runners enough that I could stake them?

Comments (10)

• sinfonian
    14 years ago

I've never grown lima beans. Interesting concept. My dad love them. Maybe I'll grow them next year for him.

If it has runners then go ahead and steak them. Can't hurt. Gpod luck!

• fanfortony
    14 years ago

Lowraine, I've grown limas for a few years now. I've never had to stake them. They grow very much like a regular bush bean. They do get tangled up sometimes, but nothing to worry about. The beans will grow on those "runners". Be patient though, they take forever. (And, congrats on your beans, I've planted seeds 4 times already this year and none have come up! I give up! We've had just TOO much rain. Maybe next year....)

• lowraine
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Let me explain, I grew up in the state of North Carolina and every garden in our town had running pole lima beans, better known as butterbeans. A piece of ham or a half a stick of butter and you had a meal, every family reunion or church revival wasn't complete until the butterbeans found their way to the table. With that said, I urge everyone to give them a try. I never heard of bush lima beans until I became a sfg person and joined this site. My question concerned my "bush lima beans", they have small runners on them. Glad to hear that the running beans will take a long time going up the string. The garden is fun and I am learning just what will do well and what will not. My tomatoes are slow to fill out with fruit, guess that will take time as well. Lorraine

• gardener_sandy
    14 years ago