Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kawaiineko_gardener

questions regarding the squares used in square foot gardening....

I understand that each box is 4' x 4' and that it's divided into sixteen 1' x 1' squares. Each "row" contains four 1' x 1', which makes for a total of 4 rows.

Now I understand that each square is 1' x 1'. What I don't understand is how many inches are in 1' x 1' square. I'm not good with math, and I'm not very familiar with square foot measurements. I would assume that each 1' x 1' square is

12" x 12" since there are 12" in 1 foot. However I have no clue. This is why I need clarification and help regarding this.

The reason I'm asking is so I can determine how many of each

vegetable I can plant in each 1' x 1' square.

Comments (8)

• angela12345
    14 years ago

I answered you in your other thread ... http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/sqfoot/msg061626501159.html?12

There are 144 square inches in a square foot (12 x 12 = 144)

• rachel597
    14 years ago

There is a great FAQ section right here on GardenWeb that visually shows the placement per square foot: GardenWeb: What are recommended plant spacings?

I hope this helps.

Rachel
    Graphic Muse's Garden Spot

• ribbit32004
    14 years ago

One more thing...your beds do not have to be 4x4. Some of mine are larger and some smaller.

Here is a link that might be useful: The Corner Yard

• matrixman
    14 years ago

Build the box to the demension that suits you (4x4 or 2x8 or 3x4 or 2x4, etc.) then make your grids. And then and only then figure out spacing using the handy dandy FAQ.

You are over thinking this really. Many times I do not have a plant in every square anyway, for several reasons.

• kawaiineko_gardener
    Original Author
    14 years ago