Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dkh55_gw

SFG won't grow!

dkh55
13 years ago

I am new to vegetable gardening. I have had flower gardens for years. I planted a raised SFG this spring and had good initial growth and then everything just stopped growing. Nothing is more than about an inch tall - if that. Absolutely no growth for about 6 weeks. I believe I did the soil mix correctly (1/3 vermiculite, 1/3 compost with manure and 1/3 peat moss) and it has been getting plenty of rain. Does anyone know what would cause this? The plants look healthy, but seem to be scaled for a barbie doll - what's up? Please help.

Comments (7)

• keski
    13 years ago

That seems to be a common problem the first year. Last year my garden wasn't growing either. Some members think the compost used in making the mix might not have been finished. They recommended adding some fertilizer. I used some high nitrogen bloodmeal. Plants started to grow and green up. This year things seem to be doing better. But I did use some fish emulsion and kelp meal. Some members believe you may need to add some fertilizer every year. Micronutrients might not be in the compost if made from plants with nutritional deficiencies. You could do a search on this forum for your topic and you should get some of those same questions answered. Yeah, I've been a flower gardener for years.
    Keski

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    13 years ago

Does anyone know what would cause this?

Yes, as keski states I am increasingly more convinced Mel's mix as is has inadequate nutrition in the first year. Supplemental fert must be added to provide nutrition.

Dan

• dkh55
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thank you for your responses
    I fertilized this morning and we'll see what happens. Hopefully I'm not too late.

• kr222
    13 years ago