Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
milkmommy

Accidently grew cucumber in middle along with other mistakes

milkmommy
11 years ago

I have a 3ft by 6ft square foot garden. This is my first year and i have made some mistake and need advice on how to proceed.

Mistake 1 - I planted the cucumber and a tomato plant 1 sq in from the north. Beside them are 2 green pepper plants that are still very green but have not grown much since transfering oustside. The cucumbers also took some time to start growing but have now taken off. They are much larger than in the attached pic. Can I mve the plants around without killing them? If i leave it the way it is I have no trellis support for them and they are shading the peppers.

Please note there will soon be a trellis on the back and north side .

Mistake 2 - I planted 1 sugar baby watermelon, 2 butternut squash, and 2 pumpkin all with 1per 1 sqft spacing instead of the 1 per 2 rule. I think I am just going to see how that plays out since the pumpkin and squash are now over 4 ft tall.

Mistake 3 - I plant beets only 1 foot away from pole beans which I have learned is another no-no. Will my beets be okay?

Comments (13)

• howelbama
    11 years ago

I would not attempt to move the cucumbers at this point. You could move your peppers since they look like they are in individual containers, and trellis the cukes. Or you could allow the cukes to sprawl out the front of the bed and down into the yard. The second option would waste more space and you might run into rot issues with the cukes if the ground tends to stay really wet in that area of the yard where they would sprawl.

• milkmommy
    Original Author
    11 years ago

The peppers I'm referring to are actually in the bed beside where the hot peppers in the containers are. The cucumber and timmys plant have now outgrown there cages so I need to get then trellised. Growing them Onto the ground isn't an option.

• gumby_ct
    11 years ago