Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
odellohio10

New to SFG - questions about harvest size

odellohio10
12 years ago

My husband and I are going to try our hand at SFG. We are right now working on getting beds together, and getting them filled in time for next spring. I will likely start some seeds inside this coming winter. We are a family of 5 and I would like our garden to keep us from buying veggies throughout the growing season. We have room for five, possibly six, 4x4raised beds. We are considering the following veggies:

Tomatoes

Lettuce

Carrots

Cucumbers

Radishes

Potatoes

Onions

And herbs like parsley, oregano, thyme

What size harvest would keep us in veggies? I just want to make sure we are planting enough! Thanks!

Comments (5)

• Bryan Scott
    12 years ago

Allthough this is my first year at SFG, and, I'm no pro at advice, I at least want to pass along some info that was given to me (I asked the same question). This may not really answer your question, but hopefully it's some info that will help you along the way.

Your garden size depends on many factors that only you can answer. How often do you want to eat vegetables? How much vegetables are you wanting per meal sitting? What are you wanting to make for the vegetable part of your meals? And many more questions along those lines.