Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lowraine

What has surprised you about sfg?

lowraine
14 years ago

As a first time sfg I was surprised to discover that my little space would crawl with chiggers. I was also surprised to find out that my 12" walkways would have to be changed come spring because the plants over ran their space. I was also surprised at just how tall a tomato plant could get. All in all, I am enjoying my garden and look forward to many years of growing my own vegetables.

Lorraine from NC

Comments (15)

• ribbit32004
    14 years ago

I was shocked at how well things grew and how much was produced, although I used a bit larger spacings on some things. I decided I didn't like my one inch thick beds as they don't provide enough tush space for sitting. I much prefer my 2 inch thick boards. :)

Here is a link that might be useful: The Corner Yard

• luke3026
    14 years ago

This is my first year also. I'm continually surprised at really how low-maintenance the garden is once it's planted. I spend maybe 15 minutes a week weeding/pruning/training vines up trellises. And an additional couple minutes a day watering as needed. Of course, being out of work and bored, I probably spend an hour or more in the garden every day watching, fiddling, poking, etc. But it's nice to know that I can maintain the garden once I get back to work again.

Here is a link that might be useful: Luke's SF Victory Garden

• momma_s
    14 years ago

This is my first year gardening too! I agree with everything all of you have said. I don't use my boards for tush resting teehee, but I do step on the front board of my main bed to access the back and behind the bed where I have lantana and zinnia's growing.