Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laura_42

Danver's half long carrots

laura_42
17 years ago

Hello all --

Even though it's summer, I'm planning for next year's garden. I'm new to SFG, so I've checked out the 1980 version of Mel's book from the library *and* have bought the latest 2005 version.

The 2005 version mentions planting carrots in extra-tall boxes; my question is, could I get away with Danver's half long carrots in the conventional 6-inch box? (raised a foot off the ground) This variety is recommended by the CSU Extension service, and it'd be great if I didn't have to make a special box for them -- but if I have to, I will.

Any SFG'ers experiences with this carrot (or others that work in a similar zone), would be *much* appreciated.

Thanks!

Laura

Comments (14)

• penguingardener
    17 years ago

Hi,

My beds are 6" tall and I planted Danvers and Scarlet Nantes carrots.

{{gwi:1280016}}
    The scarlet nantes are on the left and the stubby on on the right is a Danvers. The itty bitty one on the end right was a carrot from thinning. Other items included are a sweet banana pepper and a pickling cuke, harvested 7/9/06.

I've been pleasantly surprised with the Nantes, they're growing about 4-6" long. So far, all of the Danvers I've pulled out have been very stubby. What I'm most glad about with respect to growing carrots, was growing at least 2 varieties.

• Violet_Z6
    17 years ago

laura_42,

Just make a tier the size you wish for the longer carrots:

{{gwi:69803}}

{{gwi:69802}}

Also, don't wait until spring! The best time to plant carrots is in the fall for winter harvest. So plant now.

The key to growing is not only variety, but timing. It is best to plant carrots for a fall/winter planting. If you plant enough and if you are in zones 6 and cooler, then use straw mulch and a cold frame. You can plant as many carrots as you think you will eat all winter and they will stay in the ground for you to harvest as you need them all winter.