Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
supper_slash

Mel's mix Soil from Lowes.com And Walmart????

supper_slash
15 years ago

Hello to all SF Gardeners I am new to SF Gardening, and so here is my question:

Mel's Mix:

In my area there is not much of a choice of suppliers here. We have Lowe's, and Wall mart, We do have nursery's but most all of them get there supply's from "Lowe's & Wallmart" so as for getting Mel's mix I need to figure out how much of what i need and all of it is best if i can work out of These two Stores. I know it is a challenge, but this is going to be the best i can do for around here. I will be needing to mix my own compost out of what i can get at the two stores, and substitute what ever is left with what They Supply.

I cant seeme to find any "vermiculite" at either store. Any subs?

I am including my Zip code to help with finding supply's.

My bed is Two 2'X8'X6" Beds that will be running north and south along side of my house with the house wall backing the east side of the bed.

My zip code is: 72450

Any help or advise would be appreacited.

I think that my Cubic feet is :16 is this right? And if so then what would it be in yards?

So it would be 5.1 feet of compost, peet, And vermiculite????

This text
is a link to Lowe's.com

This text
is a link to Wallmart.com

Comments (12)

• imresident7
    15 years ago

hi
    this is my first yr of sfg
    i found vermiculite at menards [like home depot, lowes etc]
    look in the building insulation deaptmart i used vermiculite from sungro $9.95 a bag 4cuft
    also i believe your total cuft for your bed is 8cuft
    again this is my first year so take with a very big grain of salt ;)

• fishymamas
    15 years ago

1. There's a vermiculite sold in the insulation dept, same stuff, different bag, different price, you can look there.