Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tomatoes out of control... HELP!

Posted by dmartin301 z7 Maryland (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 12, 05 at 15:12

This is my first year using the SFG method and my first year growing anything. I have five tomatoes plants in the raised bed, spaced 1 foot from each other. I put cages around each one. I tried to prune the suckers, but it got to be very hard keeping up and they got out of hand, growing into another tomato plant, eventually touching the other tomato plants and creating a jungle environment. The plants also grew tall, eventually falling over on each other, since they grew much higher than the four foot cages.

Here are my questions:
1. can I prune these large suckers (over a foot and growing tomatoes) without hurting the main stem?

2. For next year, should I use a cage or a stake?

3. How many squares apart should tomato plants be in the SFG?

Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tomatoes out of control... HELP!

• Posted by Riff z7 NorthernVA (My Page) on
    Tue, Jul 12, 05 at 20:30

First, are your tomatoes indeterminate ("vining") or determinate ("bush")? Indeterminate tomatoes will grow multiple very long (or high) vines if not pruned. Determinate types (although I've never grown one) grow to a certain point and then not much bigger, I believe.

Mel Bartholemew's SFG book mostly talks about the vining type, and training them up a string or trellis instead of a cage, if I remember correctly. That's what I've done. Keep in mind this is only my third year (and I've had some tomato disease problems):

1. I think you can prune these suckers with minimal effect on the plant. Other opinions?