Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brindalmadison1911

Crop Rotation in SFG

brindalmadison1911
12 years ago

I would appreciate comments from you folks about how crop rotation is best done in SFG. Is it possible to effectively rotate crops within one 4x4 or in my case, one 4x8 bed, from year to year as long as you use a different square, or is it better to rotate crops to a different bed? How many years do you find it best to do the rotation? I have heard three years is best, what is your experience?

Many thanks for your input!

Comments (7)

• homeend
    12 years ago

the answer can be found in the book since crop rotation does not work well on such small scale.

• sinfonian
    12 years ago

Depends on what you're looking for from crop rotation. If you want it to prevent diseases and pests from attacking plants year-to-year, sorry, it doesn't work. I've got 4 beds totaling 150 SF in close proximity and I have trouble with pests jumping from bed to bed.

However, if you're rotating crops for the purpose of not depleting the nutrients in the soil, adding compost every time you replant solves that.

Hope that helps. Enjoy your garden!

Here is a link that might be useful: Sinfonian's garden

• brindalmadison1911
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Homeend, in my copy of the 1981 SFG book, Mel clearly states the importance of crop rotation, but seems to feel that it will happen automatically and you don't need an elaborate plan. I found it pretty easy to make sure I was rotating. Next time I'm in a bookstore I will check out the NSFG book to see what it says about this.

• brindalmadison1911
    Original Author
    12 years ago