Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
engineeredgarden

Transition from summer to fall planting

engineeredgarden
15 years ago

I would like to start a discussion, about the transition from summer gardening to fall gardening. I know that there's alot of disposal of current foliage involved, the addition of new amendments to existing soil, many different varieties of plants involved, etc. I've been looking forward to this planting since May, as i've never done one before. Of course, i'm growing everything possible for my climate. I'd like to make it a very good thread with lots of replies, for future reference to all. Ok....and I promise to not high jack my own thread. Scouts honor. Let's do it....

EG

Comments (55)

• carolynp
    15 years ago

That is an awesome idea, too EG!! I'm keeping a spreadsheet on the veggies with varieties, first flowers, comments, amt of fruit, etc... I planted a 50 day tomato to see if I can get a fall crop of tomatoes in October. In our neck of the woods, that's pretty unusual, but I'm planting it in a self-watering container to experiment with: 1) do tomatoes excel in an independent environment? 2) can I haul this thing in and out during the first frosts? 3) Is a winter garden feasible in my area, or is it better to just put stuff up?

• engineeredgarden
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Carolyn - cool! I'll let others chime in, and give their opinion on it. One thing that I feel would be great for this particular thread is a chart of some kind, that tells the heavy feeders, as well as suppliers of a particular nutrient, so we could plan our fall crop accordingly. That way, it would help with the soil amendment, if necessary. If anyone has this information, please add it to the thread. As an example, I currently have corn in my 4x9 box (which I know is a very heavy feeder of nitrogen), and i'm planning on growing collards and turnip salad in it's place. The information about the differences would help me to amend the soil properly.

EG