Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wormsign

bell pepper plants

wormsign
16 years ago

What is the typical yield from a single bell pepper plant? I got 2 big and beautiful peppers from each of my 3 plants. I harvested the last one (waited until they turned red) about 2 weeks ago and from all appearances it looked as if they were done for the year. But I noticed yesterday that there are new flowers on the plants. I hope this means I'll get more, what do ya'll think?

wormsign

Comments (8)

• disneynut1977 ~ Melissa
    16 years ago

Peppers will keep going until frost. I see your a zone 7? You should be able to get more.

• livvyliv10
    16 years ago

Don't know if you haven't gotten more peppers, but I was in the same situation and my plants each have a couple more peppers on them.

• quiltartist07
    16 years ago

I'm new at container gardening, or any gardening for that matter. I have two bell pepper plants that have been growing very well. One pot/plant has about 10 peppers growing, and the other has 8 or more. Lately, the plants have been dropping their flower buds. I examined the leaves and I could not find any creepy crawlers. However, on a few of the leaves (about 10 or 12) I discovered wavy white lines with a black hair-like line strung down the middle of the white stuff.

I live in Los Angeles. (This started happening before the fires.) The weather has been warm to hot, but the night temps have been chilly. In the 50's. Are the chilly nights causing my bud droppings, and do I have a disease?

• fishymamas
    16 years ago

In my experance....
    plants will drop buds when 1. it's too cold/warm to set fruit, 2. when the plant is already full of fruits 3. just to annoy me. Peppers are perrennials, and out here in riverside I grow them year-round, so yours should be fine. Just pick them when they're ripe and new ones will replace them.

The white lines sound like leaf miners, which are normal, no reason to worry if the rest of the plant is overall healthy.