Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
seeds - in ground vs. not

Posted by sbmw SoCal (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 15, 12 at 13:29

Here in Southern California, we're sweating out the heat wave and thinking about planting our autumn vegetable gardens. Sometime soon I'll start some seeds. I'll probably do a mix of starting them in small pots and of starting them directly in the raised beds. Are there pros/cons of either method, besides the high risk of the in-pot seeds drying out in our hot dry climate? (yes, even if I shade them and mist them several times a day). I think I've read that some vegs do better if transplanted and some don't like it at all. Thought I'd see what the wisdom of this forum thinks. thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: seeds - in ground vs. not

I am not an expert since this is my first year, but I live in S. Nev and have temp in the 100's here. So I seem to have better luck with starting most of my seeds inside using one of those seed starter flats with a clear cover. As soon as they pop up, they are transferred to small pot (plastic or styrofoam cup)which is labeled and dated and placed in a sunny window. Within a few days, most will then go outside into a mostly shady spot and then will be moved to a sunnier location when the second set of leaves are fully formed. I tried germinating directly in the bed and although several came up quickly, they seemed to get eaten by the insects too quickly and few remain.

o
RE: seeds - in ground vs. not

Google temperature seed germination. The following article has a chart that shows % of seeds germinated at different temperatures. In parenthesis () is how many days it took to achieve that % of germination.
http://tomclothier.hort.net/page11.html