Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
help!!! first year sfg and i need advice!!!!

Posted by ccaggiano (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 1, 08 at 18:13

Went to do the hard core, weekly maintenance in the garden tonight. I saw that most of the leaves on my plants had holes. The bugs are having a feast. I've been harvesting veggies daily and this doesn't seem to have an adverse affect on my plants.

My common sense dictates that as long as my plants are okay, producing and not dying, I should just let it be. I really don't care what the bugs are eating as long as it doesn't affect my yield and plants. They seem to be staying away from my veggies and just eating the leaves. And honestly, I am not too crazy with the idea of spraying chemicals on my plants to deter the bugs.

BUT - being that this is my first year, I am wondering if I am opening myself up to more problems in the next two months by not dealing with this now.

To spray or not to spray, that is the question...

Please help!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: help!!! first year sfg and i need advice!!!!

you go and do the 1/4 cup oil, ivory soap, and put it in a sprayer and spray it on the plants, its all natural, and the oil helps the ivory stick to the plants. the ivory is the bar, shred it and soak it in a gal of water over night. worked great last year. failed to do this year and wish i would of. LOL ohhhh and use the to hose end sprayer. that's all i know. hope that helps you any!! ~Medo

o

Yep, soap and oil spray is as good as anything. I've been using it. My first garden, too, and I don't want to use any insecticides, mostly cause I'm a clutz and don't want to accidentally poison myself.

Carolyn P.

o