Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
momma_s

Going to try SFG; have some Q's!

momma_s
15 years ago

Hi, everyone! I hope you don't mind me posting here, as this seems like a pretty tight-knit forum, but I have a couple things I need help with!

We just moved from a very shady home in VA to a great sunny home in CA, and I've been dreaming of having a veggie garden for years... I have NO experience with growing food, but have done very well at keeping my houseplants happy and alive for 7+ years. ;-)

Anyway, I've been doing lots of research and brainstorming on coming up with a garden, and have decided to try SFG. It seems like I'll be able to get more for less, and I can still slightly cater to the lazy side of my self...

1. I've been reading about companion gardening, and how some plants don't "like" other plants, like beans and garlic/alliums... Do I need to have garlic in a completely different box than beans, or can they be on opposite ends of the box? Would having one box with the soil separated be ok?

2. Since I've never done veggie gardening (any type of gardening, actually), would it be crazy of me to start with a 4x8 box, or should I stick with a 4x4?

3. Anyone have advice on doing SFG they would like to share?

TIA for you responses and help!

Comments (14)

• Melissa Houser
    15 years ago

momma s, SFG is very easy to get started. I'm a first-year gardener myself and I actually started at the worst possible time of year for my zone. Basically, my zone is flip flopped from everyone elses zone as far as planting.

Even with starting in April, I still got some decent yields on some things, but my whole first year (which I'm still in) is just a big experiment. If you treat it that way, it will be much more pleasant for you.

I haven't planted garlic, partly because it's not time yet, and partly because it needs a bit of care in my area. I suggest looking around on the gardening forum for your state and asking questions there about what grows well.