Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whiteapple_gw

I'm new at this.....questions

whiteapple
14 years ago

Okay So next year will be my first real year of gardening, I am going to build the boxes now and fill them with dirt well mainly leaves to compost throught the winter.

Anyway I have not got the wood yet and would like an opinion on what wood is the best. I am on a budget and have been unable to find free wood. I have ben avoiding treated wood just because of the chemicals, I want an organic garden. I went to Lowe's today and saw lumber it was "whitewood" (untreated) and I was wonering how long it would take to rot? I plan on lining the inside with plastic to slow it down.

What about water-sealers? I've looked at the water based ones and they have either acrylic or latex as the sealing agent in them.

Or What natural solution can I use for water-sealing other than linseed oil would soy or corn or other oils work?

Thanks!

Tyler

Comments (4)

• homertherat
    14 years ago

I just got the cheapest 2x6 they had at Home Depot. I can't remember if it was pine or cedar, probably pine, but it doesn't look at all rotten after one season and being watered basically every day. The screws didn't hold the box together very well, but that may be because it was ran over by a tractor on one edge...

I'm going to put a wooden stake in each corner and put a few screws through the box into those and hopefully that'll hold it together better. I'll try to avoid letting tractors drive over my box this time around though.

As for the oils, I don't know. I didn't treat mine with anything but I didn't really care what it looked like or how long it lasted. I assume they would work, but I would wait until somebody who knows what they're talking about replies.

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    14 years ago