Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
engineeredgarden

Let's talk about compost

engineeredgarden
15 years ago

Yep - anything and everything about making your own compost. I'm still learning how to get it just right, and my current batch has been "cooking" for a year. I'm going for the large quantity at one time method. My biggest problem has been too many greens are available to me, and I've really been loading them in the barrel. Hey! I can't let those go to waste. Anyway, I'm gonna have around two 55 gallon drums full of finished compost for the spring garden, best I can figure. I am going into the woods surrounding my property for already partly decomposed leaves. I've got tons of it, and the leaves are already crumbly.

EG

Comments (150)

• carolynp
    15 years ago

I love Narnia!! I'm gonna live there someday...

• medontdo
    15 years ago

dang EG you passed that up? all you needed was a (as tabor says) my snow shovel and a bag!! **giggle** i mean, you do have a truck right!!?? LOL OHHHH WAIT! hmmm.... i wouldn't wanna look like a crazy ol goat either **wink** **grinn**
    Hee Hee
    ya, i think i'll do that just to make his heart beat more!! LOL i do love that man!! ~Medo

• engineeredgarden
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Yes....I passed it up. I didn't have any bags with me, dangit! Oh well, at least i'm getting lots of UCG at work.

EG

• sinfonian
    15 years ago

Geez guys, I leave you alone for a few days and you've become composting experts!

Just last weekend I ran my mower over the leaf-scattered ground around a tree. Not only did it mulch for me, but the rake stayed in the shed! And I just dumped the shredded leaves and little bit of grass clippings on top of my compost pile.

I'll do it again in a few weeks when all the leaves are off the trees.

Oh, and I really hope to get loads of maple leaves. Chop those suckers up and they'll compost well...