Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organic_flutterby

Newbie question about SFG mix

organic_flutterby
10 years ago

Hi, I'm new here to this forum. I am planning to start a SFG in the spring (I'm new to gardening too).

I'm trying to source my mix ingredients. I have found a place to get vermiculite for $23/3 cu ft. So that's a bit pricey.

I also found this other stuff and am wondering if it is the same thing or what and can I safely use it.

Also, how often will I need to replenish the ingredients in Mel's mix?

Here is a link that might be useful: can I use this vermiculite for my SFG

This post was edited by organic_flutterby on Tue, Oct 8, 13 at 10:39

Comments (10)

• Donnie_Mac
    10 years ago

I contacted Sun Grow the company that packages the mica flake vermiculite last summer. They responded that it was the same that was used in commercial greenhouse operations. It is medium grade instead of coarse. I used medium grade in making my beds.

That is a very good price. I mixed 224 cubic feet and that price would have saved me a ton of money. I am thinking of making more beds so I will be going there if I do.

I have two 4 x 16 and two 4 x 12 beds. Two of them were planted in last fall and this spring and summer. They both dropped three to four inches. I added peat moss and more compost to bring back to level and then mixed it all in.

Your zone says 5 MO. If you are close to Kansas City or St. Louis, both cities have companies that sell compost in bulk. That could help you in locating your different sources of compost.

I have been very pleased with the results using Mel's Mix.

Good luck.

Donnie Mac

• organic_flutterby
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi Donnie Mac, thank you for your response.

So when the level in your beds drops, am I right to think that the amount of vermiculite doesn't go down, just the peat moss and compost?