Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pinkkpearls

How deep does a raised bed need to be?

pinkkpearls
9 years ago

I'm new to SFG and was wondering if the depth of the boxes good enough?

Comments (19)

• beesneeds
    9 years ago

I think most sources recommend 12 inches deep. I have a garlic bed that is 8 inches deep, the other two are 12 inches deep. I've seen people make raised beds as deep as waist high, to make it easier for gardening with less bending. I've even seen raised beds on stands that the bed itself is a foot or so deep- again I think it's to make gardening easier.

• yolos - 8a Ga. Brooks
    9 years ago

The All New Square Foot Gardening book by Mel Bartholomew says a 6" high box using Mel's Mix as the planting medium is all you need. Many people follow this plan. But my boxes are between 10" and 12" tall. That helps to keep my soil from drying out in my heat and allows room for mulch in the box.

• Pyewacket
    9 years ago

I love Mel, but he is dead wrong on the idea of 6" deep beds. That is far too shallow and much too prone to shock to the plant from heat, drought, and almost any little thing.

The only reason a raised bed needs to be actually raised is if you have a drainage issue. Raised beds have advantages but that's the only reason you HAVE to do it. And then the amount that they are "raised" would depend on just how bad your drainage issues are. If they're REALLY bad, your raised bed might end up on stilts, LOL!

I also never ever ever put weed block in the bottom of a raised bed built on the ground. That just keeps the worms from doing their job, which is to make ALL your soil nice and fluffy.

I build my beds on top of whatever soil I'm given, and thankfully I've never been given soil so bad that it was irredeemable. I generally don't even add soil to the bed unless it came from the path.