Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jbest123_gw

You have to help me understand something.

jbest123
15 years ago

What I do not understand is, how somebody who loves gardening, SFG in particular, can quit gardening when Jack Frost shows up? Winter gardening in a GH is as enjoyable as gardening outside in the summer. In the middle of winter, nothing beats trudging down to the GH, stripping down to your T-shirt and working amongst all that greenery at 80 deg or better, and looking outside at a foot of snow. After you are finished working playing you pick enough greens for tonightÂs salad and have a BM. I do not recognize any usernames on this forum as posting on the GH forum. Do any of you have a GH and where do you post?

John

Here is a link that might be useful: Johns Journal

Comments (15)

• ribbit32004
    15 years ago

Nope. No GH here. Granted, it's my first year seriously trying gardening more extensively than a pot or two here and there. That and I barely have enough sun exposure to maintain what I've got growing already.

I'm still going with fall crops, but possibly looking forward to the winter as a recharge. Time to forget about the destructive bugs and the heartache of failed crops and move on to the bliss of planning the next year (over and over again)and just hoping that I learned enough not to repeat the same mistakes or to better handle them if I do.

Kind of like why the summers remind me why I need to teach. I get rejuivenated, make new lessons and attack the new school year head on.

I just wish the winters were shorter, and we have a fairly short, mild winter down here to begin with. However, peer pressure is a powerful tool....convince me I need one, and tell me how I can camouflage in my front yard(strict HOA rules) and you could win me over to the GH side.

• anniesgranny
    15 years ago