Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anthonyjames_gw

Companion and Interplanting what is the difference

anthonyjames
13 years ago

So I am trying to plan my garden now for next year. I had a terrible year with the garden this year. Just to busy and no care. So very little return for work I started and ended up traveling alot.

Next year since I am dropping hours at my real job to add more time to my poultry venture that has taken off I will have more time to focus on the garden again. I am pretty new to gardening and would like to maximize all I can.

So I am trying to understand the differences between interplanting and companion planting and they sound the same. I am also trying to find plans that other people have used or currently use to get some ideas.

I can tell you what I like to grow:

Corn - I normally plant about 150 seeds total per year

Snap peas

tomatoes

Cucumbers

Green/Yellow squash

Pumpkins - for the kids

Basil, Orgeno, Thyme, Sage

Carrots

Beans

Probably more but these are main ones that I try to grow every year.

Any advice, plans, timing would be greatly appreciated.

Anthony

Comments (7)

• greenbean08_gw
    13 years ago

If it helps any, my understanding of companion planting vs interplanting is the purpose.

Companion planting is growing different plants together or near each other that benefit each other. For example, planting basil by tomatoes is supposed to give you better tomatoes. Planting radishes (and letting them grow) is supposed to repel certain squash pests. Marigolds are said to repel many garden pests.

Interplanting is more about utilizing space It's growing plants together with different growth habits (how much space they use above ground, how much space they use below ground) to maximize the number of plants you can put in a space.

• anthonyjames
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the info. I guess my next question is what do most do?