Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marymilkweed

Newbie to SFG - Question about Fine Pine Bark

marymilkweed
15 years ago

I'm new to the Square Foot Gardening method, first I ever heard about it recently in a Organic Vegetable Gardening class my husband and I attended. We were told Mel's book was out-of-date, but two weeks later I found his book at the Friends of the Library for $1.00. I took this find as a message that this was the way to go.

I live in Central Florida and most people don't grow vegetables because of the heat and bugs. My husband and I are seasoned gardeners having grown roses for the past 15 years. I'm over the high maintenance it takes here in Florida to be a successful rosarian. Since last March all my raised rose beds have been converted to Butterfly nectar gardens full of perennials and annuals.

I am so happy to have found this forum and have already read though many old postings. For Christmas, my husband built 3 raised beds, 2 ea 4'x8's and 1 ea 4'x4' using 2x4 untreated pine 3 high for a total depth of 10 1/2"

Now we are down to the soil preparation. My question:

Is anyone familiar with Soil Conditioner Pine Bark? It is a very fine texture and is usually found in bagged potting soil. I am able to get it locally and thought it could be used as one of the compost ingredients. Would it be too acidic?

The other item we used in promoting growth in our roses was alfalfa meal and pellets. Alfalfa must be used on the surface of the soil bed, otherwise it causes the soil to heat up too hot unless you wait at least three weeks to plant. We have used alfalfa meal for 15 years in building out compost, adding a sprinkled layer every 6 to 8 inches of shredded oak leaves, wetting down each layer. Heats up very hot. My question: would there be any benefit in using alfalfa meal with any of the vegetable plantings?