Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
desertlover_gw

Plant Lovers in the Land of Enchantment

desertlover
20 years ago

Just thought IÂd send this out and see what everyone in New Mexico is up to gardening-wise. I know this is a pretty quiet time of year for plant lovers, but what is on everybodyÂs plant wish list for this spring? Anyone raising palms, cacti and/or citrus?

Comments (61)

• bobcat12
    20 years ago

Hey, ABQ Palm Guy - you mean you've really had success in growing not only my beloved and much-missed PALM TREES, but EUCALYPTUS as well?? Being a former soCal resident, I miss these two trees more than anything. I can't believe they survive up there where you are!! Damn. I have seen one or two fan palms growing in yards here in Deming, but at the moment they look very dead. I guess I'll check them out when the weather warms up and see if they 'recover'. But, eucalyptus too? I love those trees because they grow so FAST and they are so lovely and tall; each with its own unique bark colors and leaf shapes. I planted several at my home back in CA, they are miles tall after 10 years, but of course I am not there to enjoy them! I had no idea they had a chance of surviving our freezing-and-below temps. around here. My gosh, I better do some research...maybe I can grow some after all.