Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abqpalms

More Advice Pls?!: Fruit Trees In Mid-Feb - Albuquerque

abqpalms
17 years ago

Hi!

I also am in need of some fruit tree advice...

I reside in Albuquerque. As of today, February 12, I have noticed that my peach tree (about 3 years old) and nectarine tree (about 2 years old) are filling up with buds all over. [Both the peach and the nectarine trees are planted against walls - the peach west-facing but the nectarine north-facing].

I believe that these buds are the beginning of the tree's spring growth? [eg: the blossoms...then the leaves, etc.]

While mid-February for Albuquerque seems a bit early for fruit tree blossoms, I remember that last year my peach tree and nectarine tree, I believe, blossomed in late-February through early March.

My question is this:

I am still a bit of a novice at growing, caring for my fruit trees. Last year, I was very paranoid that my peach/nectarine trees full-blown blossomed in late Feb/early March, as there were still some overnight frosts/light freezes ahead in March. I was worried that as a result, all of the blossoms would freeze off.

I went to a local nursery (after the trees had blossomed and a day after the first decent overnight freeze occured post-blossoms) and they told me that yes, I should have "hosed down" with water all of my trees when the warmer February weather was threatening to start the blossom period, which essentially overnight would have re-frozen them, and thus kept them, according to this gentleman, in their dormant state longer. (He noted that this practice is done in Flordia to citrus trees where possible). He believed that within a day or two, the blossoms would all fall off frozen.

However, I didn't seem to notice nearly as bit of a problem as he indicated. Some blossoms did take a little bit of a hit, but overall, they seemed okay. Fruit was still produced in summer.