Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
biscuit_co

Creosote in Colorado?

Biscuit_CO
20 years ago

Hi, all. I'm a newbie here but love the site. Recently read the following thread: http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/swest/msg042308511035.html. My question is related to this thread, but not exactly along the same lines so I thought it would be best if I started a new one.

My issue is that I was raised in Mesa, AZ and LOVED the smell of creosote when it rained. Now I live in Denver, CO and absolutely miss the creosote bushes. I'd love to have a plant up here, but there are so many issues: How to obtain one, whether it'll grow indoors (because it wouldn't survive the winters otherwise) and also the altitude. The air is thinner up here in the Mile High city and I'm not sure if that would be a factor.

I was thinking that I might keep a bush in it's original soil in my sunroom to take advantage of as much heat and light as possible. Does anyone know if this is even feasible?

Thanks for your help!

Comments (17)

• The_Mohave__Kid
    20 years ago

I suppose there is no crime in trying ....

I'll have lots of seeds available soon ... maybe a very small plant ???? ... although I am not current on what if any of those options would work ... I currently have about 14 plants under cultivation and several zillion within walking distance .... they are sold here at nurserys as well ....

Good Day ....

• lazy_gardens
    20 years ago

It can't survive outside in CO

You might b eable to nurse one along inside ... but they THRIVE in full desert sun, so giving it enough light will be difficult.

• The_Mohave__Kid
    20 years ago

They do live at elavations as high as 5,000 feet .... not exactly warm at night .... but not as harsh as Denver ofcourse .... I'm not sure about thriving in desert sun ... they survive but grow slow in the desert ... so how would they react to better conditions ????

Good Day ....

• grubbyknees
    20 years ago