Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roots3003

Watering Question

roots3003
15 years ago

I'm new to outdoor gardening in this AZ heat so I have a couple watering questions. My irrigation system is not working, so I will be watering with a hose by laying it on the ground next to the plants.

I'm just wondering how often I should be wateriing using this method. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Here are ther plants I have:

queen palm (planted in November)

canary date palm(planted in December)

mexican fan plam(very small, planted in December)

some oleander bushes

agave

large jade plants(in pots)

rosemary

bird of paradise(planted in February)

spider plants(planted in Febryary)

madagascar dragon tree(not really an outdoors plant)

small grapefruit tree(planted in December)

umbrella tree(planted this month)

some cactus I found behind the house

all of the above plants get full southern exposure all day. Thanks!

Comments (4)

• petzold6596
    15 years ago

Generally all of these should be watered deeply every two weeks. This mean five gallons for smaller plants to up to 20 gallons for larger trees. Once these plants become established, 2 yrs. on average, the frequency can be reduced. Rosemary, Bird of P, agave, and cactus do not like wet feet so water every 3-4 weeks all the time. Remember as the plant becomes established the root system will grow out from the stem so place your water accordingly. Keep this info in mind when setting up your zones of the irrigations system. Oh, Jades will sunburn so provide shade during the summer and don't over water. You will know when to water them because they will become less of a rich emerald green.

• jam8952
    14 years ago