Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dutch_il

Flowers for Iraq

dutch_il
19 years ago

Hello,

I generally post in the Vermiculture forum or otherwise lurking (I'm learning, not teaching). I'm posting in this forum because I need some assistance.

Briefly, I'm a Vietnam veteran ("Bull" Fishers 3RD Marine Regt, Nam 1965-66) and a member of Operation Soldier Support. I have been corresponding with the kids in Iraq and have been chatting with a young lady Sgt who happens to be studying Horticulture in a university in Texas when she's not in harms way. Anyway, the matter of seeds came up.

I told her to let me know if she needed any seeds and I would send her some, no cost to her of course as I send items over there out of my own pocket anyway. She said any flower seeds that was tolerant to dry conditions and extreme heat. She said the weather there is similar to parts of Texas/Arizona.

What I'm looking for is any suggestions of seeds I might purchase and send to Iraq. I live in the cornfields and bean fields of Central Illinois and obviously haven't had that problem of dry/drought conditons and extreme heat.

I apologize for the long post but wanted to give you folks a good idea of what was going on.

Any help you can give would be appreciated.

Thanks and have a great day!

Larry Woller

Comments (10)

• Rosa
    19 years ago

An extremely nice gesture but please make sure that what you send are not considered invasive to the region. There are already major problems with the transport of weed seeds out of Iraq into other countries on the many vehicles already there. And while we don't think of our common plants as weeds-they sure can be for someone else. The last thing we want to do is spread problems to others in the invasive plant arena.

Good luck.

• dutch_il
    Original Author
    18 years ago