Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hemeteer

mexican bird of paradise....needing lotsa help....

hemeteer
19 years ago

I HAVE 5 MEXICAN RED BIRD OF PARADISE AND 5 YELLOW BOP SEEDS. I HAVE USED THE PAPER TOWEL METHOD AND MOST HAVE STARTED A SINGLE WHITE "ROOT". I PLAN TO MOVE THEM INTO A PAPER CUP WHEN APPROPRIATE. BUT, I AM A NOVICE OF THE FIRST ORDER WHEN IT COMES TO GARDENING....I DO PRIZE THESE WONDERFUL PLANTS SO HIGHLY..THAT I HOPE TO GET HELP IN BEING SUCCESSFUL WITH THEM...

MY QUESTIONS ARE AS FOLLOWS.....

1. WHEN SHOULD I MOVE THEM FROM THE PAPER TOWEL TO THE PAPER CUP MEDIUM? DO I WAIT FOR SEVERAL APPENDAGES TO SHOW?

2. HOW DEEP DO I BURY THEM? AND WILL POTTING SOIL BE GOOD FOR STARTING THEM?

3. HOW MUCH SUNLIGHT SHOULD THEY GET IN THE BEGINNING AS THEY SPROUT?

THANK YOU FOR READING MY POST AND I DO HOPE SOMEONE WILL TAKE MERCY ON ME AND OFFER ME THE BENEFIT OF THEIR EXPERIENCE AND KNOWLEDGE...I WOULD BE MOST GRATEFUL IF YOU WILL...

Comments (33)

• the_butterfly_lady
    19 years ago

If they've germinated (which they have, if you see the white shoot) plant them now (before it grows into the papertowel.)
    Don't plant them too deep now, since they've germinated you don't have to bury them as deep as you normally wood. Remember: it's better to UNDER plant them than to over plant them. I just barly cover the seeds with damp vermiculite (this will pull the seed cover off the plant as it raises above the soil.)
    Oh! Plant them with the white root down! Beleive it or not, it does make a difference.
    Don't wait for several appendeges to appear, or you've waited way too long.
    They'll need about 8 hours of sun, but not hot, direct sun at this time (too hot!) If you're in an area that's warm enough, put them outside. If not, be sure there is good air circulation for them too.
    After the first true leaves appear (the first leaves are "seed leaves") you can start "weaning" your seedlings outside, with a little more direct sunlight every few days.