Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vanessak72

Question about growing fruit in Las Cruces

vanessak72
16 years ago

Hi! My husband and I are new to the Las Cruces area and have relocated from Palmer Alaska for His company. As a lifelong Alaska girl I guess I was greatful for what we could grow but always took for granted the water we had available. My dream has been to have some fruit trees such as peach, apple, plum etc. Things that in Palmer Alaska are not adapted. Is it to risky to grow these trees here? I know Gardening is way totally different then Alaska but want to know what water issues to expect. Will I be wasting my time trying to grow these types of trees? I am aware of the need to seriously address soil issues. I'm just hoping for a small family orchard. Any help will be appreciated from this newbie here. Thank You, Vanessa

Comments (9)

• lorna-organic
    16 years ago

Hello, Vanessa, I live about twenty miles south of Albuquerque, so we aren't in the same zone. However, I've been told peaches do very well here. I have an old apricot tree on my property. It produces a lot of fruit, but the fruit usually falls to the ground a few days before it is ripe enough to eat. A farmer told me to pick the unripe fruit, put it in a bucket, and cover it with plastic. He said it will soon ripen and be just fine. I haven't yet tried it.

I put in two almond trees, when I moved here five years ago. This year they are covered with buds. I've heard there is an apple orchard in this area, but I haven't seen it.

You do have to make sure your trees get sufficient water. If your area is windy, you will need to water more frequently. Water deeply. If winters are dry, I do a good soaking once a month. During summer I give young trees a good soaking once a week. If you mulch, it will help the soil to retain moisture.

Good luck!
    Lorna

• desertlvr
    16 years ago