Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dragon5_gw

Hibiscus' leaves getting yellow/dying lantana

dragon5
20 years ago

Hi! I'm a newbie with lots of questions, but I'll start with my Hibiscus.

I got the plant mid-april and planted it in the sun per the instructions. It's turning yellow! Am I watering too much, too little, or doing anything else wrong?

Ok, one more question. I also have lantana, whose instructions say to plant in full sun. I did. They're all dying, no matter how much I water them. I even put them in nice beds of store-bought dirt. How can I save them? And are they perennials or do I throw them away at summer's end?

Comments (13)

• kazooie
    20 years ago

hi dragon5! i don't know anything about hibiscus, but you might want to ask your question at the arizona gardening forum. there are a lot of nice people there that might be able to help.

now, i do have some lantana in my yard. how often are you watering them? lantana are pretty hardy here in arizona and mine seem to grow like weeds. i water about every 7 days during the hot summer months with a slow deep watering. you want to make sure the water is getting down about 2 feet into the soil. my lantanas grow so well, that i usually trim them a few times a year.

• dragon5
    Original Author
    20 years ago

I did find the AZ forum, thanks! And since I posted my question, the lantana are blooming again..my problem, I think, was that I wasn't deep drip watering, but just turning on the hose every day.

Thanks!

• nmnative
    20 years ago

Yes, you need to water them deeply. Most xeriscape plants like a deep watering and will get yellow leaves with too often, shallow watering.

• eileenaz
    20 years ago

I think that hibiscus need a lot of fertilizer and some occasional iron and zinc to ward off chlorosis. It's our alkaline soils, don't ya know.

• PhxBeginner
    20 years ago