Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
highwhistler

What location has the 'perfect' climate for vegetables gardens?

highwhistler
15 years ago

Hello Friends,

I've always wanted to move to New Mexico or Arizona, and a primary interest of mine is home vegetable gardening.

Do you know of an area, a valley, a special place anywhere in New Mexico or Arizona, that is ideal for growing a wide variety of vegetables for as many months as possible, throughout the year?

Temperatures, soil, and ample water are my main points of interest.

I know that Seeds of Change is near Santa Fe, and they obviously do very well in the growing of a wide variety of vegetables.

Your advice and suggestions are deeply appreciated. In advance: Thank you!

Peace,

Highwhistler

PS: It is OK to suggest a remote area, too, as long as there is some sort of fast internet service available. I am a visionary artist, author and website designer -- that is my business and I work from home, alone.

Comments (8)

• lorna-organic
    15 years ago

I don't know of any specific good places, but anywhere agriculture is thriving should do the trick. In New Mexico, you do want to consider the wind factor. There are many places in this state which are windy. One needs fencing, block walls or trees to protect gardens from wind damage. Good luck with your search and relocation!

Lorna

• fabaceae_native
    15 years ago

I agree with Lorna, looking for a spot where commercial agriculture is viable is a good way to go. In NM and AZ, this would be limited to major river valleys or areas irrigated from the Colorado River.