Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
codiy

Soaker Hose on a Timer?

CoDIY
18 years ago

Hello all, I am new to the whole gardening forum, but would like to tap some of the expertise out there.

My wife and I are looking at doing a Xeriscape herb and tall grass garden in the back yard of our townhome south of Denver. The herb and flower beds that we are planning are fairly small (4'x10'), and we have two trees and an 8'x3' raspberry bed as well. I was thinking that I would put in a Rain Bird timer set up to a 1" PVC manifold with flow control valves, then out to 3/4" poly tubing to each of four zones that would end in a PVC tee with a Rain Bird filtered drain valve at the low point and a soaker hose attachment point above ground for each of the watering zones. One zone for the trees, one for the herbs and flowers, one for the grasses, and one for the raspberries.

I would appreciate any advice that anyone has.

The main goal here is to have a system that will be easy to winterize (i.e. pull off the soaker hose and disconnect the system from the hose bib), and will provide attention free watering.

Thanks for you help

Comments (6)

• abq_bob
    18 years ago

I have a set-up as follows:
    Short hose from bib to 4-valve manifold w/ hose-to-pipe thread fitting at the manifold intake ("always on" - the bib is always turned on, and flow control is done at the valves)

At the out going side of each valve I have pipe-to-hose fittings to attatch 3/4" soaker hoses and drip system conduit as needed. The valves are attached to a timer, which runs off an outlet in my garage and has wires running discreetly out-of-the-way to the manifold.