Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jll0306

Earthbox, Growbox, City Picker Planters

jll0306
11 years ago

This is my first year using commercial Sub-irrigated planters (SIPS) and I have a few of each of the varieties listed. I started with GrowBoxes for my tomatoes and have the best tomato crop I have ever grown.

These will become my indoor winter planters, because I can monitor the water level as I add it. However, I will probably not order their replant kits since I now understand how to place the ferts in the box, and can make my own mulch covers. The one caution when using these boxes is that they are in two separate pieces, one sitting on top of the other. Once they are planted you must not try to move them by shoving on the top half or you will dislodge it from the bottom well and disrupt the wicking process.

One of the CityPickers holds self-fertile zucchini, which does not depend of pollinators, and the plants are producing well. I have happy chard in another. This brand has a nice square shape and casters. You can buy them from Home Depot, either online, or in the store. (Although, strangely enough none of the stores serving the local desert carry them, and I have to drive 25 miles to get to one that does). It is the least expensive of the three and I also understand that HD had a great end of season sale on them last year, so perhaps they will again.

I've just added some Earthboxes, for kale, cukes, peppers and eggplants. These are made of heavy duty material and growers say they last for years. The best price on them today is from Ozbo, online. They ship with casters, fertilizer, dolomite lime and mulch covers.

Regardless of brand, to a frugal gardener, the per box startup cost can seem very high, but, given the way food costs are climbing, you will likely recoup the cost of the investment in a year or two, depending on where you shop.