Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oldrceed

Wintering over Caesalpinia pulcherrima

oldrceed
19 years ago

I have been growing the Red Bird of Paradise for several years now but I cannot seem to find a way to winter it over until the next year so I end up restarting them every year from seed i collect during the summer. It gets down to 20 degrees here in Alamogordo, NM and I am thinking that I should not water it as much during the coldest months. I do heavily mulch it as well as trimming it back to the ground when it dies off in the early winter. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks, Oldrceed

Comments (12)

• The_Mohave__Kid
    19 years ago

Don't know what else you can do ... here they overwinter well ... but still die back quite a bit but most of the time not to the ground ... by all means reduce water in the colder months .. mulch is good to keep things warm but they can tolerate a leaner soil... perhaps a pourous black fabric on the soil surface to warm things up ?? Trim it in the spring when it is starting to grow would be better you may be removing viable branches.

• SteveNMZ8a
    19 years ago

Welcome oldrceed! Don't water during winter and make sure its in your hottest microclimate. What is your experience with the Mexican version? does it lose leaves during winter? I want to try one - saw one in east El Paso this spring that was quite large.

• jmh0019
    19 years ago

I've seen these growing unkempt as far north as Austin...do you think I could keep 'em alive in Fort Worth? Overwinter in the garage? (I'm on the line between 7b and 8a.)

• cnm7
    19 years ago

I've successfully overwintered mine by growing it in a large container and hauling it into the garage for the winter.

Cynthia

• cubano1
    19 years ago

Hi,

I was reading that you have grown the Red Mexican Bird of Paradise and wandered if you could help me out.
    I just got some seeds and I was wandering if to plant it in a dry or a wet medium and how long does it take to germinate?