Return to the Southwestern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Dwarf peach from Home Depot sick

Posted by nmikmik 10 (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 25, 11 at 0:03

Hi there and thanks for looking at my post. I am a beginner gardener and have no clue of what am i doing. Bought this nice looking but very small specimens of dwarf peach at Home Depot. Planted in amended soil as per HD recommendation.
Watering them every day, cause it's hot right now and I really don't want them to die. They have developed this reddish tint (that was not there when I got them from HD) and it looks like something is munching at them. Bought an insect spray from the same HD, seems to be not working. BTW, my neighbors fully grown peach trees have the same problem, I just doubt they can be brought down s easily.
Thanks!
https://picasaweb.google.com/101986341375757424963/InstantUpload

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Dwarf peach from Home Depot sick

Problem #1-Never add anything to the soil that's going in the planting hole, esp. when planting trees and shrubs.
Problem #2- Never spray anything unless you know exactly why you're spraying.
Problem #3- You asked Big Box employees plant questions. They rarely are knowledgable about plants, they're there to sell you something.
Questions:
What soil amendment did you use?
When and how much are you watering?
Have you contacted your local County Extension Office and asked for help?
Have you asked your neighbors about their trees? "Something munching" on the trees isn't necessarily a bad thing.

Also, the picasaweb link wouldn't open.

o

Thanks,

I guess I messed up ha?

a. I just bought amended soil for the whole front yard and mixed that in in the planting hole. I have no idea what it is amended with.
b. Spray says that it takes care of insects on the fruit trees.
c. I am watering them daily in the morning around 6am and evening around 7pm.
d. I have not contacted County Extension Office, cause I had no idea of it's existence