Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
contrary_mary_ca

Mexican Sage - no flowers

Contrary_Mary_CA
18 years ago

I planted two Mexican Sage last summer that went nuts, grew, blossomed, and took over an area that was obviously going to be too small. They far exceeded what their labeling said. I moved them in winter when they were dormant to an area in the backyard that they can do all the growing and blooming they want. Well both plants are about 30" high, healthy and NOT ONE flower stalk has shown up. What has happened? The conditions from the front yard to the backyard are not different. So frustrating. Also the verbena that I planted in May from the 6 pk have not really taken off, although 5 ft. away the apricot ones are flourishing. I work so hard at gardening, read about it, make sure I'm only using plants that should do well, irrigating properly but it all seems so much harder than it should be and I'm not a newbie. My husband is completely fed up and says no one should have to work this hard to make a yard do well. Any other people in my zone that can throw in some comments as well as anyone else?

Comments (5)

• DanaDW
    18 years ago

My guess on your sage would be to just give it time, you'll probably get much better performance next summer.